The 16th and the 17th centuries were a crucial time for Lublin. The great fire of 1575, which almost completely destroyed the city, and the growth of counter-reformation movements led to an arrival in Lublin of a large group of Italian masons. The reconstructed and restored sacral buildings were given a set of common architectural features: a slender shape, one nave, chancel narrower than the nave and ending in a semicircular apse, façade without towers, stucco-decorated barrel vault with lunettes, façade with a decorative gable, strapwork and plastered walls. This distinct consistent architectural style of sacred buildings erected in the Lublin Region in the first half of the 17th century was first recognised in scientific literature by Władysław Tatarkiewicz. The term lublin renaissance was disseminated in art history in the first half of the 20th century.


Other landmarks featuring on the Lublin Renaissance Route that are located in the Lublin Region are presented on the website:


  1. Church of the Holy Spirit
  2. Church of the Conversion of St. Paul
  3. Church of the Assumption of Our Lady of Victory
  4. Church of the Immaculate Conception of Our Lady
  5. St. Joseph’s Church and Convent
  6. St. Nicholas’ Church
  7. The Orthodox Church of Transfiguration of Christ
  8. St. Agnes’ Church
  9. Church of Our Lady the Help of Christians
  10. St. Adalbert’s Church
  11. Church and monastery complex of the Dominican Order