The obelisk was erected in 1826 on Stanisław Staszic’s initiative to commemorate the signing of the Polish-Lithuanian Union in Lublin in 1569 – one of the most important events in the history of Lublin.

The monument is situated in Litewski Square, where Lithuanian noblemen resided during the proceedings of the Sejm in 1569. The concept of the monument was put forward by Feliks Bentkowski, while Paweł Maliński created the relief depicting two female figures holding out their hands to each other with Polish and Lithuanian coats of arms in the middle.

Object distinguished with the European Heritage Label in 2007

znak dziedzictwa europejskiego eng