The name of the square is connected with the first church built within the city walls – the Parish Church of St. Michael the Archangel. It was founded in the 13th c. by Leszek the Black as a votive offering for the victory over the Jatvingians.
In the 15th c. a mighty tower was added to the western side of the church, which was visible from a 35-kilometre distance. The parish church was demolished in 1857 due to its poor condition on orders from the Lublin governor Albertow. Most of the interior furnishings were taken to Lublin Cathedral.
Fully reconstructed foundations of the parish church and a scale model of it can be seen in Po Farze Square. The restoration of the landmark took place in the beginning of the 21st c.