Built in the years 1865-1867 in an eclectic style according to the design by Ludwik Szamota, the building is a replica of the Europejski Hotel in Warsaw. It has always enjoyed a reputation of a modern, fully equipped facility with exquisite customer service. On the strength of the last will of the Michelson Family, the property was bequeathed to the Lublin Charitable Society. Having been damaged during World War II, the building was fully restored and for many years served as a hostel of the Polish Tourist and Sightseeing Society (PTTK).
In 2002, following comprehensive refurbishment and adaptation works conducted by Zomar S.A. and Tadeusz Fijałkowski, the building became the Europa Hotel again. It is praised by its guests for top-quality service and excellent cuisine. The façade of the building is decorated with painstakingly restored plaster heads located above the pilasters.