The temple was built by greek merchants in accordance with the 1786 royal charter as an orthodox church subordinate to the patriarchate in Constantinople.
In the 2nd half of the XIX century the orthodox church was taken over by the Moscow patriarchate and since 1922 it has been a roman-catholic church. These changes resulted in the liquidation of the orthodox interioir and in the selection of its present patron – St. Jehoshaphat, whose image is placed above the main altar. The temple is furnished in a modern style. The façade of the temple and the elevations of the adjacent belfry have stylised forms of XIX century orthodox church architecture. The simple interior is devoid of any stylistic features.